top of page

Will Our Generation Ever Be Able to Experience Something Similar?

I know I had always dreamed of attending Woodstock,some of my favorite artist played and it was held in Upstate New York which is where I am originally from. If I were from this time period I know I would've been there. Although I would've wanted to attend Altamont as well I am glad I wouldn't have been able to since it ended up being a complete disaster. But the people during this time seemed to have such a different mind set, The decade was about peace, love, drugs, and rock and roll which seemed like it would've been an amazing decade to be a part of.

For our generation their are many music festivals that occur, one in particular that I find similar to Altamont is Coachella. Altamont and Woodstock influenced events like Coachella. Coachella is held in Indio, California. The event features many genres of music, including rock, indie, hip hop, and electronic dance music, as well as art installations and sculptures. Across the grounds, several stages continuously host live music. I plan to attend Coachella at some point after I graduate because it seems like an amazing and similar experience. Below are some photos comparing Altamont (before chaos broke out) and Coachella.

 

The photos from Coachella look like a modern version of what Altamont and Woodstock must have been like. Hopefully there is never another event that ends the way Altamont did, but the difference with our world today is things aren't as easy as they were then, there will never be a music festival that has an intoxicated biker gang security. Also events and big festivals now are more planned and organized than Altamont was.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page